Weekend Wanderer

Knowledge

…Is power.
Simple, profound, yet too often overlooked. Knowledge drives our society and is required for most jobs (in the form of a college degree); why do we push it aside hoping instead that our charisma will win the position? I was reading the Bible today and read this from the first part of Hosea 4:6:

“My people are destroyed for lack of knowledge.”

Here God is talking about specific people who rejected Him and turned away from the knowledge of the truth, but I also found a real life application in these stark words: without knowledge, my search for a job will fail. Even if I land a job, if I knew nothing about it beforehand and applied on a whim, chances are infinitesimally small that I will “strike it rich” with a dream job. In every aspect of life we should be striving for knowledge, readers! That means when I look for any position, I am reading the description provided and gaining as much knowledge about the company as I can beforehand. This way I know what is expected, who I work for, and if we share values. I’ll be honest, that’s why I got excited about the last job I applied for πŸ™‚ Was it my dream job? No. Was it a well-respected company in the community, with an excellent reputation? Yes. I loved what the company stood for, and what people that I knew in town had to say about it.

The take-away for today? Use knowledge to your advantage, fellow job hunter! Get out there and start reading up on favorite companies. Know who you are working for and what they stand for – you might eventually land your dream job πŸ™‚

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

