Weekend Wanderer

“Re-Entry Apathy”

I find the strangest sensation after traveling is not jet-lag, but rather the continuance of the ordinary.

How often I’d prepared myself for life to be exactly as I’d left it when I traveled to Europe, yet when it became reality it was as if I was taken unaware. To be completely honest, I’ve been struggling since I got back with feeling anything at all. This empty listlessness is not what I’m used to, and so I find myself at a loss for what to do next. I had no motivation, and it was frightening me.

How could I describe the wonders of ancient Rome, or the ethereal beauty of the Irish countryside to those who have only a passing interest? How can I expect those who have never seen these things to be as excited as I am?

The biggest problem here is that I let myself become so focused on the trip itself, that I forgot the abiding joy I have in Christ. Once the mountaintop experience of being overseas was completed, I halfheartedly went through the motions of life without being content with where I was currently.

It took a Sunday School lesson to shake me up a bit. The lesson was on emulating Christ now matter where we are in life. I was struck by the fact that I’d been choosing to live in the past, leaving my current day-to-day life flat and empty. My focus was only on myself, not on the love of Christ and His sacrifice for me that should give joy no matter what the circumstances. I will be the first to admit that among my many faults is this: I live life too affected by circumstances, and not steadily joyous based on the fact that Christ saved me.

This last thought comes from the Psalms, which I read this morning: “For the Lord God is a sun and shield, the Lord bestows favor and honor, no good thing does he withhold from them whose walk is blameless.” -84:11

I want to live my life blameless, grounded in the Word of God.Image

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

