Weekend Wanderer

Thursday’s Theory: Buckle Down

Buckle Down. Get to work. Settle down and work seriously at something.

These words all describe the conclusion I’ve come to in my own life, that it is time to simply decide – no more confusion, no more crisis, just a resolve to be where God has me. So much of my recent struggle has been so selfish: what do I want out of life, rather than what does God have for me right now, where I’m at? The truth is that this is God’s plan for me – when He promised he had a plan that was for the best, He didn’t say he was putting it on hold until I finally grow up.

This thought is what prompted this edition of Thursday’s Theory: it’s all about character, determination, and being a gazelle. A Gazelle? Yes, I’m not joking with you! Allow me to explain…

I’ve been reading a book called the Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey, and he explains this concept of imitating how a  gazelle intensely avoids its hunter in our fight against debt (and it is based on scripture!). The verse that inspired Ramsey to coin the term “Gazelle intensity” is found in Proverbs 6:4-5:

“Give your eyes no sleep
and your eyelids no slumber;
5 save yourself like a gazelle from the hand of the hunter,
like a bird from the hand of the fowler.”

Today’s take-away? When you are in debt, run like crazy to get out of it. Be wise, readers. Buckle down and work to get rid of that debt – be a good steward of what God’s given you. That definitely helped clear my mind of all this confusion about what to do with my life.

My duty is simply to be a good steward, to buckle down and, as Dave Ramsey says, “live like no one else now (i.e. working 3 jobs and not ever spending to achieve debt freedom in a year), so you can live like no one else later.”

Think about it – are you determined to be found faithful?

Gotta love work badges!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

