Weekend Wanderer

Thursday’s Theory: Bad coffee and Coworkers

I want to make sure we share the duties equally.”

This is coworker code for: “I want to make absolutely sure you don’t take advantage of me, and that I’m not doing anything at all above the bare minimum. You on the other hand, can handle all the duties I don’t want.”

At first I was disgruntled. This person was as easily seen through as my breakroom coffee.
(weak coffee is the bane of my existance)

Believe me, I WISH this was Caribou coffee.

Believe me, I WISH this was Caribou coffee.

What made me most frustrated was the fact that, being new, I take more than my share of the workload – don’t want anyone to have a grudge against me right off the bat. Long after the shift was over, those words/actions continued to ruminate in my brain. I was offended – how could they insinuate that I didn’t already pull my own weight?

It wasn’t until later that day that I got a reality check straight from the Bible. In the midst of my self-righteous pity party, I read this from Philippians 2:
“Have this mind among yourselves, which is yours in Christ Jesus, who, though he was in the form of God, did not count equality with God a thing to be grasped, but emptied himself, by taking the form of a servant, being born in the likeness of men.” – Verses 5-7

Talk about convicting. Here’s how this breaks down: Christ had more of a reason to complain than I ever will, because he legitimately was better than those around him, yet he didn’t even consider his exalted position as something to hold over people’s heads. He didn’t get proud, he just did his work, and became like a servant.

Put that into perspective, fellow workers: If you are a Christian, that means you are trying to be like Christ, and Christ clearly shows an abundance of humility in a situation where he had every right to be proud. There will always be that one person who tries to take advantage of you in the quest for “Workplace Justice.” How will you respond? I’ve learned the hard way that being selfish and proud only breeds hard-feelings, and makes the shift that much longer. Following the example of humility and not taking offense from others will bring harmony in the workplace (how zen!), and give a better idea of what God really is like.

Peace takes work, and so does good coffee – Strive for both 🙂

My outlook is always improved with a good cup o' joe

My outlook is always improved with a good cup o’ joe

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

