Weekend Wanderer

The Luck o’ the Irish!

Happy Saint Patrick’s Day!

To celebrate, I’m going to post some pics from my trip to Ireland this summer – there can never be too many of those pictures, in my opinion! I loved every second of being there, especially when it rained (which surprised my Irish friends Jon and Andy to no end!).

On the way there - a foreshadowing of the beauty to come

I’m sure you can understand why I loved it so much – look at that countryside!

I’m thinking of making a “miniseries” of posts about my trip to Ireland (and beyond) – If you’re interested in seeing/hearing more about the trip, leave me a comment!

For now, I want to celebrate one of the MANY gorgeous sites in Ireland:

The Giant’s Causeway!

The Causeway is a natural wonder of cliffs and hexagonal rock that simultaneously fills you with wonder and empties you of breath. I love this kids version of the myth behind this natural wonder – it’s even read aloud by a nice Irishman. Charming!

Here is a page straight out of the moleskin notebook my friend Emma (a fellow traveller/adventurer) gave me:

7/24/12. “Touring the Giants Causeway was like being in the middle of an epic film. Seriously, any epic battle movie you can think of could not compare to turning the corner to face that majesty…”

A sweeping view of the Causeway - breathtaking!

A sweeping view of the Causeway – breathtaking!

“It makes you feel as though you can do the impossible, like your heart will beat out of your chest, yet you also feel finite in the face of such power…”

Coffee and Causeway - I am addicted to both.

Coffee and Causeway – I am addicted to both.

I got the chance to travel with an awesome missions group from school, and it just so happened that my best friend was there too – I think it heightened the awesomeness of the adventure to have her right beside me!

"Let's be Legend-Derry!" Can't take these kids anywhere...

“Let’s be Legend-Derry!” Can’t take these kids anywhere…

A little goofiness is a natural reaction to the stunning wonder around you – perfectly acceptable 🙂

Look at that drop!

Look at that drop!

What these pictures don’t convey is the invigorating smell of the mossy ocean mist, the dizzying giddiness, and the moments etched into your soul that Ireland accomplishes so brilliantly.

Best Friend, Best Country, Best Memories

Best Friend, Best Country, Best Memories

“Somehow, on those rocky Irish cliffs, my heart felt as though it were soaring to Heaven, closer to God than ever before. Words cannot do it justice…”

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “The Luck o’ the Irish!

  1. Pingback: WWW Day 7 (cont.): The Giant’s Causeway! | Working Ways Home

  2. Pingback: WWW Day 7 (cont.): The Giant’s Causeway! | Weekend Wanderer

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

