Weekend Wanderer

FLOOD!

Today is April Fools, but the stories to follow are completely, incredibly true.

I got ready early today, feeling fresh and ready to take on this Monday, without realizing that it wasn’t just an ordinary Monday.

Dressed and ready for...disaster?

Dressed and ready for…disaster? (Side note: my phone case is a fire alarm – thank you Etsy)

It’s April Fools.

The instant I walked in the door, my nose was slapped with smell. It was a moldy, cat-litter smell that pervaded the office and first clued me in to the absurdity of the day. As I turned the corner, I saw the devastation creeping up on unsuspecting cubicles (reminiscent of The Blob).

Herein lies the downfall of having a flat roof and many feet of snow accumulation – the leak turned into a small flood that had us looking for an ark…or at least a canoe (and some noseplugs?).

I was not prepared for a flood today.

I was not prepared for a flood today.

Before I knew it, Service Master swooped in like the unsung hero to clean up the aftermath. Perhaps the reason they are unsung is that the machines are so loud no one can hear anyway. We continued on with our day, shouting over a noise akin to a helicopter landing, and trying to maintain a small degree of concentration.

It was in the midst of this chaos that my boss stormed out, returning with a blowtorch. A BLOWTORCH. I thought these types of shenanigans only happened on sitcoms. What did he need that for, you ask? Well it wasn’t toasting marshmallows, that’s for sure.

This would have been my first choice to beat the flood - we need sustenance!

This would have been my first choice to beat the flood – we need sustenance!

Instead, it was for this:

The greatest thing that has ever happened at my office.

The greatest thing that has ever happened at my office.

Understandably, I was amused beyond reason (WHY was no one filming this?!?). I sat at my desk, shaking with silent laughter, and also from the cold. The cold? Yes, the door (that is conveniently RIGHT in front of my desk) had to be propped open. In the dead of winter, at 10 degrees above zero. Yikes!

The best part about all this is that not a syllable was fabricated.

The real April Fools Joke? Having to stay at work and pretend to be oblivious to the noise, smell, and general devastation. Sheesh.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “FLOOD!

  1. ginger on said:

    The blowtorch picture is classic. When is the Daily Journal gonna start a reality show?

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

