Weekend Wanderer

W.W. Wanderings Day 5: First Sunday in Ireland!

7-22-13

It was hard to quiet my mind this morning to find time for God. All I can think about is how tired I am and how incredible this adventure will be, when I finally get in the right time zone.

Psalm 103 is the theme of this trip because it’s all about blessing the Lord for His marvelous works and character – what better place to reflect on God’s glory than in a country were the emerald hills are radiant with it?

This morning, I read from Isaiah 30, which is a warning to Israel that strength from anything but God will fail them. Key verse 3 states that pretty clearly:

Therefore shall the protection of Pharaoh turn to your shame,
and the shelter in the shadow of Egypt to your humiliation.


What an awesome reminder to me (the one who tries too hard to do everything in her own strength) that my strength is only from the Lord. How timely, at the beginning of this trip, when I want to change people or control my experience, to remember that this whole trip is under God’s control.

No matter how much my flesh wants to rise us and fight against things outside my control, God is the only one with strength that won’t fail. I will fail if trying away from God.

The small church on the packed street afforded a refuge for Irish locals, and resounded with the hearty voices of true praise. I loved everything about it, right down to the tea time in between services!

Here is the little church in Derry, Northern Ireland. So quaint

Here is the little church in Derry, Northern Ireland. So quaint!

Here is a view of Tea Time - my favorite!

Here is a view of Tea Time – my favorite!

533064_10151008453841795_978005279_n

Me and Caleigh after the service 🙂

576181_10151008378021795_842508904_n

Teaching the kids at church 😉

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

