Weekend Wanderer

WWW: Days 9&10 – The Blend

I took the weekend off, and now I am horribly behind on my “one-year-ago-today” chronicles.

For those who are just tuning in, Here’s the recap: Last year I went to Ireland, Paris, and Rome. This year I’m stuck behind a desk. “Working Ways Wanderings” is my way to relive the past and pretend I’m anywhere but here.

7-26-13

Many thoughts crowd my mind today, not the least of which is that I. AM. TIRED. After all the jet lag and now late nights with the team, I feel as though I can’t catch up. Even in this though, I don’t want to waste my trip on sleep.

*Some days are mysteriously silent about what I actually did, like this one. I’m left to wonder what the day held, and wish I had finished my thoughts.

7-27-13

Today we visited the Doagh Famine Village in Donegal. It’s here that the Irish have preserved the history that rocked them as a nation, almost wiping their culture: the Great Famine. It was a sobering experience.

As we took the tour, we were able to see how hard it was to live here when the blight struck the potatoes, which was Ireland’s only crop (Britain wouldn’t allow any other trades that might “compete” with them).

Irish history is starkly bleak, riddled with harsh struggle. I’m deeply affected by it because it is a part of them. Every Irish person remembers and lives with this history fresh in their minds – it serves to unify them in a way that I haven’t experienced in the states. Their focus is more towards what they have survived together as a people than getting ahead as an individual.

Although I was moved by this experience, I have no photos of the actual famine village. Sometimes I feel as though I’m making light of tragedy by trying to capture it on film, and on this day, I was too absorbed in the troubled history to discreetly snap some pictures.

Here are the pictures from the drive up, which was a stunning contrast to the poverty displayed at the village:

IMG_1883 IMG_1891 IMG_1894 IMG_1895 IMG_1897 IMG_1898 IMG_1907 IMG_1908 IMG_1910 IMG_1911

As we wrapped up our tour, all I could think is how I wouldn’t soon forget this place.

Images of abject poverty have a profound impact on a passionate person, and I hope it continues to inspire humble gratitude for what I’ve been given.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

