Weekend Wanderer

WWW Day 16: Dublin Day!

8-2-12

Finally we get to go into the city! I can’t tell you how excited I am to see “Dublin’s fair city..”

IMG_2354

Our excitement apparent on the bus ride – I’m such a nerd for loving the bus so much!

There is so much to see here, from the buildings to the teeming mass of people on the streets. We started at Trinity College:


IMG_2363

First stop, Trinity College!

IMG_2364

Gorgeous architecture – how could you not feel studious here?

IMG_2365

This bell tower marked the center of the square. Now that is a school bell!

We also saw Dublin castle. I love that you can turn the corner and see a castle, or breathtaking stone cathedrals against the modern backdrop of city streets and shopping malls. This is the magic of ordinary days here, because rich history and gothic beauty surround and interrupt the daily hustle.

IMG_2368 IMG_2371

To me, the thunderstruck traveler, everything is new and refreshingly awe-inspiring, but to the people who live here it is just another castle, just another distant reminder of the era of knights and kings that is taken for granted.

IMG_2375

IMG_2379

After the castle, we wandered through gardens around it.

IMG_2384

I can’t tell you anything historical about this garden, but I fell in love with it.

IMG_2386

For some reason, these sculptures made me smile 🙂

IMG_2389

One of the many colored Doors of Dublin

IMG_2397

Christ church Cathedral

After quick tours of the college, castle, and cathedral, we hit the streets, which were just as rich architecturally and so much fun to wander around in!

IMG_2429

The famous Liffey Bridge – I wish I could have seen it at night!

IMG_2403 IMG_2414 IMG_2416 IMG_2418 IMG_2425 IMG_2428

The day was long in the kind of way that rushes by, leaving you exhausted. I managed to remember important things, like the name of the coffee shop that gave out free chocolates (Butlers!) and the 15 street performers I saw in one block. I remember the way it felt stumbling onto a small ice cream shop for a treat and enjoying the rare sunshine.

This day has been quite the success.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “WWW Day 16: Dublin Day!

  1. Excellent post. I felt like I was traveling there right along with you! I liked your photography as well. What fun your day must have been. Dublin is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

