Weekend Wanderer

The Search for Serendipity (NYC)

MERRY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!

Since my brother’s accident, I’ve been WAY behind on posting. I’m slowly catching up on NYC and Washington DC. Here is one particularly dramatic journey for food in NYC:

2:00pm, Lost in Manhattan.

At this point, it seems like all I’ve ever wanted out of life was a cheeseburger.

I stumble over my rubbery flats and glower at innocent passersby. I faintly realize my peevishness, but am powerless to stop it.

Hanger” consumes me:

unkind-words-hunger-someecards

I haven’t eaten since a few granola bars at about 7am, and for those of you who know me, this is clearly not enough to sustain me.

What brought me to this desperation? It all started with a movie:

2008_02_12-Inspire03

“Serendipity” starring Kate Beckinsale, John Cusack, and frozen hot chocolates.

Ah, Serendipity, the fortunate accident, the movie, the pleasant surprise of love, all centered around an eclectic shop with legendary frozen hot chocolates.

It seemed only natural that we should visit someplace “famous” while we were here, and we were determined to find this shop:

Entrance_to_Serendipity_3,_the_New_York_City_dessert_restaurant

See how it’s cutely tucked away? Yeah. 10 TIMES harder to find.

After a brief foray into Central Park (where we ran into hilarious street performers) turned into an hours-long trek to find another entrance, I couldn’t go on.

The pain in my feet was only a faint echo of the pain in my empty stomach. WHERE WAS THIS PLACE??

Clearly, you understand why we may have walked RIGHT by it.

Understand why we may have walked RIGHT by it??

It was an overwhelming relief, to say the least, when we finally found this place…until we walked in.

“It will be a 30 minute wait.”

Kristina and I sank to the bench in wordless, exhausted despair. After the eternal 30 minute wait, we were seated in the lovely upstairs gallery for our meal:

1374988_10101493768329200_1129078419_n

1391624_10101493768369120_360081892_nAnd then, FINALLY, we ate. I do not remember what I ordered (at this point, did it matter?), but it was sublime:

1385322_10151747914259755_1836032000_n

I’m surprised I got a picture before it was devoured – It was Delush!

And then, the reason why we suffered so long in the first place:

960008_10101493768304250_744113996_n

Frozen hot chocolate! A little melt was inevitable on such a muggy day.

1378185_10101493768284290_253607658_n

Let me just say, it was worth it.

And that’s all she wrote! If you’ll excuse me, I have 10 pounds to gain tonight.

Merry Christmas!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “The Search for Serendipity (NYC)

  1. Pingback: Museum Madness, Part Two | Weekend Wanderer

  2. Pingback: 3 Tips for Travelling Tired | Weekend Wanderer

  3. Pingback: Fast Friends in Phoenix | Weekend Wanderer

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

