Weekend Wanderer

In Memory of Grand-Mom.

Dear Friends,

Today will be a departure from my usual postings. Today is a tribute to my Grandmom, Betty Davis:

268501_154290081311375_6811743_n

Betty and Chuck Davis

We received word yesterday that she had passed away in her sleep, while at the hospital for a broken ankle. The news was a shock, and I think we are all still reeling.

As anyone who has lost a loved one can tell you, it doesn’t ever feel like it’s real, like it’s the truth, especially when it is sudden.

And yet I know death is a part of life, and more than that, I know Grandmom is in Heaven, rejoicing. I don’t say this just to make myself feel better, but because I know in my soul it’s true. 

206763_1974609493060_7193884_n

This post might seem a bit morose to you, I get that. Who likes to face this side of reality? Isn’t that why we hide behind music and movies, why we endeavor to lose ourselves in something or someone else? But hiding from pain stunts growth.

How else can you see the pain of others, if you deny feeling it yourself?

Today is not about garnering sympathy from you, my friends, but about celebrating the beautiful life of my Grandmom.

217230_1974608733041_7589196_n

I remember her as patient and loving, with a strong faith in God. She always knew what was happening in our lives, from her 5 children to her 14 grandchildren. It was amazing to me that she could remember things about each of us, and that she would pray faithfully for us by name.

That kind of love is the kind that’s remembered, no matter how quiet the life.

206379_1951069064564_1695621_n

Grandmom and Pop-Pop with their 5 children

She was consistently posting encouraging notes on Facebook that showed her joy, her complete contentment with her life. Take this one for example:

Such a gorgeous day!!! We took a ride over beautiful scenic roads & enjoyed the mountains, wild flowers by the roadside & peaceful ponds. Have to remind myself that I am not on vacation, this is where I live. This is home!!!! What a delight!!! God is good.

My favorite spot in the Summer. A lace cap hydrangea in the middle. A young rhodo on the right and Lilac on the left.

My Grandmom call this her “favorite spot in the Summer”. She always kept beautiful hanging plants on the porch.

It’s getting harder to finish this with my own words, so I’ll simply share one of her recent status updates – it shows her true character better than I ever could:

Sunday Praise- Nov.3,2013

Be strong & courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. Joshua 1:9 “Day by day and with each passing moment, strength I find to meet my trials here; trusting in my Father’s wise bestowment, I’ve no cause for worry or for fear. He whose heart is kind beyond all measure gives each day what He deems best – lovingly , its part of pain & pleasure, mingling toil with peace & rest.”

We need to learn to live one day at a time, trusting God’s wisdom, provision & guidance for that day. Focus on today & trust the Lord for tomorrow. Not always easy, but we serve a great God!!!!!

165705_1267814591230_6662499_n

Thank you Grandmom, for your wonderful example.

Love,

Me.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “In Memory of Grand-Mom.

  1. Sorry for your loss Kelsea. She was an example of a fine human being; one can only hope to have a fraction of that optimism, to see each day for what it is, a beautiful gift. That is a dynamic I have to work on changing in my life.

    May she rest in peace.

    My condolences and prayers are with you and your family. A loss is always tough, but you have such a beautiful life to remember and celebrate. Be strong.

  2. Pingback: How Gratitude Grew from Grief | Weekend Wanderer

  3. Pingback: Museum Madness, Part One. | Weekend Wanderer

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

