Weekend Wanderer

How Gratitude Grew from Grief

The story starts when I received the news that my Grandmom passed away, but it doesn’t end there.

In fact, it was only the beginning of an outpouring of love.

2013-05-16_013

Thanks Booth Photographics for the images! Click on each picture to read the posts they came from 🙂


I didn’t have time to fully process that she was gone before I got to work, so it was there that I lost control.

I can’t tell you how it feels to have people at work who aren’t afraid to care, who offer hugs and support when words aren’t enough.

2013-05-30_017

It was there, standing in the break room with coworkers that I started to realize how grateful I am for this close-knit workplace.

Wherever I went that morning, I was met with sympathy and love, and I will not soon forget that.

It made an impression on me, and opened my eyes to the genuinely kind people I walk by everyday.

2013-05-21_026

I’m not trying to romanticize anything, because not everyday can be an outpouring of affection.

In this moment though, I experienced pure compassion that struck a chord in me. Perhaps T.A. Webb said it best:

“A burden shared is a burden halved.”

The kindness kept coming, gathering force like a stream as it moves to a river.

2013-06-26_053

Wonderfully sweet church people came with meals and empathy, hugs and pies (two of my favorites!). They came to meet a physical need, and left meeting a spiritual one as well.

Plants and flowers came, and beautifully written cards that expressed all the joy of loving relationships.

2013-07-25_019

This is why I love making connections with people, why relationships are so important to me. That spark of pure, genuine love for one another always overwhelms and humbles me.

I will always miss Grandmom, but I don’t want to miss the people around me in the process.

2013-07-25_040

I don’t know how to thank you friend, coworker, church member. I don’t know how, but I will try, because you mean so much to me.

Thank you.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “How Gratitude Grew from Grief

  1. Very nicely put, a surprise from the frozen north…might even try connecting to more people.

  2. Pingback: Museum Madness, Part One. | Weekend Wanderer

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

