Weekend Wanderer

Museum Madness, Part One.

Hello Friends.

This last week feels like a dream. A dream of vivid, exhausting emotions that range from despair to overwhelming love.

I have many stories from my trip to PA that I would love to share, but it is too soon. Grandmom’s funeral is too fresh to relive, though I am grateful for so many things that came out of it.

For now, as a distraction, I’ll get back to my DC Trip. Let’s recap:

It started at the Library of Congress, which was so awesome I had to dedicate an entire post to it. After that, it was a blur of historical museum madness. On the list:

1. National Archives.

No pictures allowed in here, in order to preserve the documents.

ArchivesRotunda

Thanks Google, for this pic of The Rotunda, home of the Declaration.

This room is dim and hushed, keeping the magic of “National Treasure” just within reach (not that I am contemplating a heist of our Declaration..).

2. Smithsonian Museum of Natural History.

Pictures allowed here, and I took full license to act like a child:

IMG_7902

Only a kindred spirit of mine would make that face for a photo..

IMG_7899 IMG_7901IMG_7906 IMG_7910

IMG_7912

Hope Diamond!

IMG_7923

I spent a while in the Diamond section, casually browsing 😉

IMG_7914

3. The Smithsonian Institute.

I’m a huge fan of castles. Ever since my first castle in Ireland, I’ve been hooked. Naturally, I loved this “mini-castle” in the middle of the city:

IMG_7931 IMG_7933 IMG_7934 IMG_7936 IMG_7940That covers about half of our day, and my feet are starting to ache just remembering this. I’ll have to leave off here for now.

Stay tuned for Part 2!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Museum Madness, Part One.

  1. Pingback: My First Crab Cakes, at The Chart house | Weekend Wanderer

  2. Pingback: Musings at Mount Vernon | Weekend Wanderer

  3. Pingback: 3 Tips for Travelling Tired | Weekend Wanderer

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

