Weekend Wanderer

Happy 100 to the Happy Hipsters in Madison

Guys.

It’s my 100th post!

I dedicate this post to my sister and brother-in-law (Happy Anniversary Booths!), who have harbored me more times than I can count.
Settle in for a completely chill visit to Mad-town – the 100th post deserves a little extra real estate:

Currently, I’m sitting in the gentle breeze of a ceiling fan, with a cup of pour over coffee and acoustic music ministering to my weary soul. It’s heaven.

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I’m at the Booths. I am content.


It’s the first time in weeks that my jaw hasn’t been tight with the stress of a new job – a forgotten bliss. Staying at my sister’s is a safe haven.

Starting right when I got off the plane, these crazy kids whisked me off to an open house for the amazingly talented Jeff and Sarah Mullins, from A La Crate Rentals.

(Photos by Urban Anchor Photography)

10350622_684473418301277_6890340939772333435_n

Did I mention Sarah is pregnant? Hence the Pickles&Ice Cream theme – how cute is that?

Anna

Anna Vogelzang on vocals – her voice was ethereal. Check it out!

Cheese

Who doesn’t love a great cheese? This was my particular favorite.

Crowd

A view of the crowd – I’m in the way back with my best side forward…

Ice Cream Stand

Ice cream line – The graham cracker was divine!

Kid playing rings

There were even games for the kids!

Pickles

More Yums

Steph:Stephen Ala Crate

The Booths and I  having a grand time šŸ™‚

Table at ala crate

The barrels. The Tables. The rustic vibe.

Everything about this party was relaxed and organic, reminding me that life outside of work can be beautifully simple.

All too soon, Anna was done singing and my stomach was begging for a more substantial meal. In keeping with Booth family tradition, we went out for a culinary experience:

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

MMMmmm Falafel! Courtesy of Banzo Restaurant

And it only got better. The next morning, Stephen greeted me with: “Want to go out for crepes?” Has that question ever been answered with a no?? 

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Bradbury’s Coffee – This delight was a banana/pecan/dark chocolate/carmel dream.

Slightly dazed from my sweet morning treat, we decided to walk it off, at the Dane County farmer’s market!

market

This is the largest “producer-only” farmers market in the US!

Music was playing, flowers were blooming and rallies were…rally-ing (it’s Madison)? Oh, and we found this:

fritter

Apple Fritters the size of my face.

I know my main focus is on the food in this post, but every time I visit them, it’s a sensory experience, mostly in the taste category. I’ve never met two people with better taste, or a better knack for finding the coolest spots in town!

Food is only the start of it with these two. They are always creating, always exploring, always making the world around them a little more beautiful. Oh, and they have an endless supply of popsicles:

popsicles

Clearly, they get me. Also, they have get more popsicles when I leave, since I eat 6 at a time.

I can’t tell you what a blessing it is to visit my sister and brother-in-law. They constantly teach, whether it’s career tips or makeup tutorials, their creativity is always shared.

They are the people I always feel safe with. 

Happy anniversary you two. Keep sharing!

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

