Weekend Wanderer

Dreaming with Your Eyes Open

All men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find that it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes, to make them possible.

~T. E. Lawrence

I was in the car when I first heard this. It stilled me.

It was like a pale winter sunset – captivating in a way that freezes you in time, where the clouds turn watercolor over the barren landscape. I was simply…still.

Processed with VSCOcam with a1 preset

What have I been dreaming about in my waking hours? Not much, I’m afraid. My eyes were opened.

I haven’t really had a “waking dream” since paying off my student loans, and that feels like ages ago. Where I am now, it seems like dissatisfaction is contagious, and oh how it drags my soul through the muck.

Enough.

I want to reject this apathetic envy bred by too much Facebook browsing, not enough living. I’ve been caught in the trap of following other stories, living vicariously through other adventures, and it’s exhausting.

sunset

It begs the question: At a time when so many people I know are going on adventures, what will mine be? Here’s my “Dream in ’15” Readers:

Travel to Brazil.

Why? to do what I set out to do when I started working for Delta: travel to missionaries around the world – see how they serve, be a part of something bigger than myself. No more putting it off!

brazil

Check out the Leonard’s, dear missionaries to my church that invited me to come years ago, and have been on my mind and in my heart ever since that Sunday afternoon around our table.

I’ll try to keep you updated on my progress to Brazil throughout the year, but for now, why not think of your own “waking dream?” It’s never too late or too insignificant to dream.

Find something to change your world, something to look forward too, something to work towards. I have a sneaking suspicion that neither of us will be disappointed.

~K

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

