Weekend Wanderer

Mist, Museums, & Men, Sydney Style.

All exceeded my expectations.

Oh stop rolling your eyes, it’s harmless admiration! Believe me, it took a long time to discover these things this morning.

There was an endless, sticky line through customs (I got my passport stamped!) at 7 AM Sydney time, then another few hours of trains and moving into my Airbnb house. Before I knew it, I was in the city.

For those who don’t know, I love cities. I love feeling the bustle and observing the people (though it didn’t seem like it yesterday), and generally being swept into the life of a place.

It was misty, so I spent most of the day in museums. It cleared a little later, and I spent the day wandering, which I love!

IMG_7383

Take a walk with me, and find my favorite parts of “street life.” From talented buskers (street performers) to gorgeous parks and cathedrals, pictures are worth a thousand words:

IMG_4923

At the War Memorial

IMG_4926

Drinking Fountain in Hyde Park. Classy, Sydney.

IMG_4927

At the beautiful Australian Museum, where I snuck some lunch on one of the padded benches.

IMG_4929

Tutini (Pukumani Poles) are carvings for ancient Aboriginal’s burying ceremonies

IMG_4933

I loved the green lights everywhere – it made you feel like you were in the water!

IMG_4956

Because who wouldn’t want one of these?

IMG_4955

At the Aquatic Fitness Center – looks more like a place to work on your tan πŸ˜‰

IMG_4958

Welcome to St. Mary’s Cathedral – beautiful building

IMG_4962

Tourist photo! Strangely, I felt safe trusting others with my camera πŸ™‚

IMG_4964

Isn’t the door gorgeous?? I have a thing for doors.

IMG_4966

View from within. It was somber.

IMG_4977

Lovely gardens in Hyde Park – people were everywhere enjoying the fall afternoon!

IMG_4978

The famous Archibald Fountain in Hyde Park

IMG_4985

Sometimes I take pictures of random strangers so you can see how they dress, 99% of the time. Sydney is so posh it made me feel like a bum.

IMG_4986

One of the many shopping alleys that I happened upon – I’m sure they had names, but I was to happy in my wanderings to take notice. πŸ™‚

IMG_4987

Look who I found, looking so dapper!

IMG_4990

This was my favorite shopping alley, right off Pitt Street Mall – it was gorgeous, and filled with gorgeous people.

IMG_4991

A real live hatter!

IMG_4992

Doesn’t it just look cool? #nerdalert

IMG_2652

This coffee shop was PACKED. I took a sneaky shot of the men in their awesome business attire..most of these guys were older because I’m was too intimidated by the cute ones to sneak a picture. Story of my life.

This was one of the high points of Sydney, I will admit. Men here all look and smell like an Armani ad. I don’t know if it’s just because I was on vacation, but there’s just something perfect about these well dressed men, and the sheer quantity was overwhelming.

I think it’s an unwritten rule in Sydney (and all of Australia) that all the residents be gorgeous. I felt slightly like a small child watching a glamorous party in my rumpled travel clothes, but I didn’t let it get me down – it’s good to see all the beauty in the world!

And now for my favorite moment of the day:

IMG_4984

This REALLY HAPPENED. It’s not just a pixar short!

Despite the vast amount of walking and site-seeing, this day isn’t over yet.

What happens next is something that I’ve never experienced, and hope to never experience again, but it deserves its own post.

Until then,

K

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Mist, Museums, & Men, Sydney Style.

  1. The one that you listed as your favourite arcade is called the Strand.
    And I love how people dress in the CBD too..very stylish πŸ™‚
    Great read!

    • Zoya thank you so much for solving the mystery! I was actually disappointed I couldn’t remember the name. Are you from Sydney?

      • No worries – I am from Sydney however don’t get to visit the CBD as often as I would like 😦

      • Lucky lady! I read your bio and looks like you enjoy travelling too – I’m so happy to connect with great people all over the world, especially ones who like food as much as me! Seriously your posts make my mouth water! I’ll have to tour Parramatta next time I come πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks for reading my bio. I love reading what everyone thinks of Sydney.
    Looking forward to reading more about your adventures πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

