Weekend Wanderer

The Sunny Streets of Sydney

Day 2 began and ended with perfect sunshine, making up for the misty mistakes of yesterday.

Thanks to my Airbnb hosts, I found the coolest “underground” coffee shop at my train station, Salvage Coffee:

IMG_2660

This gem was tucked away right under the train station!

IMG_2658

Toastie = Toasted Sandwich, and my new favorite word πŸ™‚

After an amazing mocha (one of the few places in Sydney that actually knew what that was), I hopped on the train and headed into the city. First up? A walk over the famous Harbor Bridge:

IMG_2664

Thank you, friendly German, for taking this “pre-journey” photo of me by the bridge.

It took me well over an hour to cross the bridge, as I kept stopping to stare and take 100 pictures of the same breathtaking view:

IMG_2671

The view never gets old. Can you imagine walking by this every day?

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Gorgeous Sydney, putting out it’s best to make up for last night’s disaster. Thank you, we’ve reconciled!

IMG_2743

Sydney selfie time!

I was once again blown away by the fact that people around me live with this in plain sight. They walk by it on their way to work and hardly notice, an architectural beauty made commonplace by daily living.

IMG_2792

One more, from ground level

IMG_2745

Thankfully, a nice Asian woman took pity on me and snapped this πŸ™‚

I spent half the morning wandering close to the Opera House and Bridge, not wanting to leave. When I finally tore myself away, it was to promptly get lost in the old section of Sydney, named the “Rocks.”

I’m happy this way, on my timetable, wandering through quiet cobblestone streets. It doesn’t bother me that I don’t know where I am or that I may have walked right past some cool sights. I’m free to go wherever I want, and even a workout facility looks exotic to my tourist eyes!

I caught a ferry to Manly beach after a wonderful lunch, mainly because I was tired of walking. When I got there, I wasn’t disappointed.

IMG_2875

My first panorama! I need some practice, but at least you get the general idea.

The sun was so perfect that there was a slight haze over everything, giving it a touch of unreality.

IMG_2874

This reminded me of the pictures of California my sister and her hubby always post

IMG_2881

Breathtaking, right?

IMG_2887

Sandy Selfie!

I finally got up the courage to leave my clothes and phone in the sand to jump in! I was so blissfully out-of-place, with my blinding pale skin and un-toned legs, but that’s never really stopped me from having a blast!

I don’t want to miss out on spontaneous adventures because I don’t look airbrushed, and you shouldn’t either. Get out there and “ride the waves” – You won’t regret it.

 

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

hello, farewell

join us on our next adventure

